Spinach and Artichoke Bagels

Spinach and artichoke dip is delicious on its own, but why not jsut put that cheesy goodness into a nice carb boat! A close friend of mine suggested that I test out this recipe and I did not regret it. These bagels could be a snack for yourself or you can cut it up into chunks and serve it as an appetizer! Regardless of which way you choose to eat it, if you’re a fan of spinach and artichoke dip, then you will definitely be a fan of this.

fullsizeoutput_38b

Ingredients

  • 8oz cream cheese
  • 3/4 c artichoke hearts
  • 3/4 c spinach
  • 1 1/2 c mozzarella
  • 1/2 c parmesan
  • 1 clove garlic
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 bagels

If you have a “go to” spinach and artichoke dip recipe, you can use that for the filling instead. I have a Spinach and Artichoke Dip recipe that you can use for the filling, but I didn’t use that because I wanted to test the recipe using the ingredients/instructions it has. For the bagels, I used everything bagels and I thought it was a great choice. Feel free to use whatever type of bagel you enjoy.

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  2. Prepare the filling ingredients: finely chop the artichoke hearts, finely chop the spinach, mince the garlic.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, add the cream cheese, artichoke hearts, spinach, 2/3 c of mozzarella, parmesan, garlic, salt and pepper.
  4. Cut the bagels in half and use your fingers to scoop out some of the dough from the bagel.
  5. Fill the bagel halves with the dip. Sprinkle with the remaining mozzarella.
  6. Bake for 12 minutes and then broil on low until the cheese begins to get slightly brown.

And just like that, you have a nice mid-day snack!

Test Kitchen: Opinion and Changes

This recipe came from delish.com. To be honest, although these tastes good, this was definitely not my favorite recipe for spinach dip. When I was making it, I kept adding more spinach and artichoke to it because it seemed like it was too thick (too much cream cheese). The concept is smart though and I would definitely make it again, I would just use a different recipe for the filling. In addition to this, I decided to scoop the dough from the bagel rather than just spreading it on top.

 

Happy Cooking!

Leave a comment